Comics Review : DC Comics : Superman : The Death and Return of Superman Omnibus (1992-1993) (2013)

Up Up and Away DC Comics Fans! , Here is my review of Superman: The Death and Return of Superman Omnibus 1st a description of the omnibus : The historic story of the death and return of Superman is collected in one massive 1040-page hardcover volume featuring an all-new cover by pivotal creators Dan Jurgens and Jerry Ordway, timed to coincide with the 20th anniversary of the event! Superman: The Death and Return of Superman Omnibus includes the best-selling trade paperbacks The Death of Superman, World Without a Superman and The Return of Superman, plus many pages of bonus extras. This unforgettable epic is collecting in this massive edition including SUPERMAN: THE MAN OF STEEL #17-26, SUPERMAN #73-82, ADVENTURES OF SUPERMAN #496-505, ACTION COMICS #683-691, JUSTICE LEAGUE AMERICA #69, SUPERMAN: THE LEGACY OF SUPERMAN #1 and GREEN LANTERN #46. Now on to my review of this omnibus , Superman The Death and Return of Superman is written by Dan Jurgens , Karl Kesel , Jerry Ordway , Louise Simonson , Roger Stern , with artwork by Dan Jurgens , Jerry Ordway , Jon Bogdanove , Tom Grummett , Jackson Guice , Brett Breeding , and colored by Glenn Whitmore. Superman The Death and Return of Superman is either no matter who you talk to is the best story to come out of the 1990’s or one of the worst stories to come out of the 1990’s their is no inbetween. For me though this is one of the best Superman stories of all time from the writing to the artwork and all the heart and emotion this had it all. The 1st part The Death of Superman is a slugfest between Superman and Doomsday. The 2nd part World Without a Superman is while slow is emotional story the pain on Lois and the Kents faces especially that gets to a lot of readers. The final parts The Reign of Superman and The Return of Superman is all action and emotion featuring 4 different men claming to be Superman until the return of The One and Only Superman and the ending with Superman , The Kents and Lois Lane is so touching. Now I should mention their are some stories missing from this Omnibus they are , Justice League of America #70 , Newsday , Matrix Supergirl and Lex Luthor story and Superman Doomsday. To me that is not a huge deal that those stories are missing but I can see why some may feel this collection is incomplete without those stories. Overall I give Superman : The Death and Return of Superman a 9.5/10 a great Superman story and one of the best Superman Stories of all time.

One thought on “Comics Review : DC Comics : Superman : The Death and Return of Superman Omnibus (1992-1993) (2013)

  1. I remember this story as one of the first MUST READ events of my comic collecting days in my youth. I didn’t read Superman at the time (or really any DC) but when I heard Superman was dying, I knew I had to read it. I think of those stories often, from my youth and now that I’m back into comic collecting too! I enjoyed your post and the trip down memory lane!

    Like

Comments are closed.