Editorial : DC Comics : DC New 52 Retrospective

Hello DC Comics Fans , Here is my retrospective and look back on DC’s New 52 1st a description of The New 52 : The New 52 was the 2011 revamp and relaunch by DC Comics of its entire line of ongoing monthly superhero comic books. Following the conclusion of the “Flashpoint” crossover storyline, DC cancelled all of its existing titles and debuted 52 new series in September 2011 with new first issues. Among the renumbered series were Action Comics and Detective Comics, which had retained their original numbering since the 1930s. The relaunch included changes to the publishing format; for example, print and digital comics are now released on the same day. New titles were released to bring the number of ongoing monthly series to fifty-two. Various changes were also made to DC’s fictional universe to entice new readers, including to DC’s internal continuity to make characters more modern and accessible. In addition, characters from the Wildstorm and Vertigo imprints were absorbed into the DC Universe. The New 52 branding ended after the completion of the “Convergence” storyline in May 2015, although the continuity of the New 52 continued. In June 2015, 24 new titles were launched, alongside 25 returning titles, with several of those receiving new creative teams. In February 2016, DC announced their Rebirth initiative with the release of an 80-page, one-shot on May 25, 2016, and continuing through late 2016. Now on to my thoughts on DC’s New 52 , For me DC’s New 52 was a really hard for me to get used to however early on I bought into New 52 subscribing to both Superman and Action Comics and for the 1st few issues I enjoy The New 52. Then after issue #12 of both Superman and Action Comics I gave up on the books and started to read other titles like Batman and Wonder Woman , Justice League etc. The way Superman was re done in The New 52 I did not like and had a very hard time relating to this Superman and was not the Supes I knew before in the Pre New 52 continuity. DC’s New 52 their was some good and bad and that was for me and for most fans who followed The New 52. For me the good was Batman , Wonder Woman and The Justice League all 3 books really strong tiles with great artwork and stories. The bad for me was all The Superman books and Supergirl especially with The Red Lantern storyline did not like that. I guess the problem for me with New 52 is most of the stories where too dark and some way too dark at times and some inconsistency with a lot of the books and no clear direction at times. Yes their was some good with DC’s New 52 but for me too much inconsistency with The 52 continuity. DC Comics has seem to learn their lesson from this and now with DC Rebirth and the stories are bright and full of hope again in The DC Universe. How will DC’s New 52 be remembered? It will be most remembered for starting up Digital Comics at DC Comics and selling a lot of books and bringing new readers in. So their you have my retrospective and look back on DC’s New 52.

