Retro Reviews : Star Wars : Episode 1 The Phantom Menace (1999)

Next up in Retro Reviewing I’m going to start reviewing the films from The Star Wars Prequel Trilogy starting with Star Wars : Episode 1 The Phantom Menace. 1999 think about that for a second their was no Facebook , Twitter , Google + Plus their was online message boards and reviews of films in the local newspaper mostly and The Internet was in it’s early days. This was a big deal back then the 1st Star Wars film in 16 years. Now like I do with any film I avoided spoilers , plot leaks all I knew about the film was from The Trailers. So we get our Popcorn and our soft drinks get to our seats and The Opening Crawler comes up and it’s Star Wars back on the big screen and a new movie. As the film went on it was good to see a Young Obi-Wan Kenobi , Qui-Gon Jin , Anakin Skywalker , R2-D2 etc. As I was watching the film my Dad was like that Jar Jar Binks he’s funny and Goofy and we laughed at the scenes he was in and in a good way. Now I understand this Star Wars Film is not well liked by some of the fans and by the interwebs and mainstream media as a whole also I respect those who have a fair point that do not like the movie. For me though I enjoy this episode of The Star Wars Saga it was where it opened up and it was The Beginning as the tagline suggested. Overall I give Star Wars Episode 1 The Phantom Menace a 7.5 / 10 it  is a good Star Wars film not the best in the series but not bad as some have suggested.

One thought on “Retro Reviews : Star Wars : Episode 1 The Phantom Menace (1999)

  1. I really think it gets to much hate to be honest.i did not nor still do think it was a BAD film it was good and also paced well leading into Clone Wars i feel.i did not get to see any Star Wars in film Force Awakens will be my first.

    Like

Comments are closed.